top of page
  • Ann Bradshaw

Andy Priaulx Heads To Sepang For WTCR Finale

It’s the final race of the FIA World Touring Car Cup this weekend and for this the series is staying in the far East for a race on the Sepang International Circuit. This is again a new track for Andy Priaulx, but he is relishing the challenge after his recent Macau victory in the Lynk & Co 03 TCR. Simulator work has been the key to Andy’s preparation for this circuit and, after a final session yesterday and before he flies to Malaysia, he said: “This should be a level playing field for everybody so I feel quite pumped up about going to the Sepang circuit. After my win in Macau and also fighting for pole in Japan, I know how competitive the car is, and I want to carry that momentum into the final race of the year. I am focusing on performing as well as I can, and continuing with the uptrend of my performance thanks to some developments with the car. I have been able to move things in my direction a little bit and feel lot more confident. However, at the same time I have to think about my Lynk & Co Cyan Racing team mates who are fighting for their positions in the drivers’ title battle, as well as for the team title fight.”  As for the circuit itself that hosted the Mayalsian Grand Prix from 1999 to 2017, Andy thoughts are: “I have done a lot of sim work and the track looks like a very technical one. I think it is going to be quite a challenge for everyone to find the right balance for the car, the right lines and the right rhythm for the circuit.” The touring car action on the 5.542 kilometre track starts on Friday, 13th December, with all the practice and qualifying sessions on that day. The timetable is FP1 from 10.00 to 10.45, FP2 12.45 to 13.15, qualifying for race one from 15.15 and 15.45 then Q1 for race two from 19.30 to 19.50,  Q2 from 20.00 to 20.10 and the first car starts Q3 at 20.20.

On the Saturday there is no track action for the WTCR as there is an eight-hour race. On Sunday the three races will be held at 15.15 (9 laps), 18.15 (9 laps) and 20.10 (12 laps). All these times are local which are eight hours ahead of GMT.


bottom of page